Liebster Award Nomination

Liebster

Much to my surprise I was nominated for an award. It’s the Liebster Award. It’s an award given to bloggers by bloggers. I haven’t been blogging long and I never thought I’d be nominated for any award. I’d like to thank Steve Bailey of Movie Movie Blog Blog. It’s truly an honor.

The Liebster Rules are as follows:

• Answer my nominator’s 11 questions
• Nominate 11 additional bloggers
• Ask 11 questions to my nominees
• Share 11 additional facts about yourself

These are the 11 questions I answered:

1.  “All-time favorite movie” is too tough. What is your favorite genre, and what is your all-time favorite movie in that genre?

It Happened One Night

Favorite genre is romance and my all-time favorite movie is the romantic comedy It Happened One Night.

2.  “Theatrical” is too easy. What’s your all-time favorite TV-movie?

North and South

If a mini-series counts I will have to say North and South and the two mini-series that followed. The actors and actresses who made those characters come alive could not have been cast any better. I found it to be a wonderful epic.

3.  The Great Movie Genie is allowing you to permanently change the ending of one movie. Which one do you choose, and why?

Fifty Shades

I felt Fifty Shades of Grey (at least the version I saw) should have ended 1-2 minutes earlier. I don’t want to spoil the end for anyone but it just went on an unnecessary extra minute or two.

4.  You’re the latest heinie-kissing Hollywood exec, slavishly following trends. Which movie, good or bad, would you like to sequelize or remake?

Metropolis

I’d like to see a remake of Metropolis. It was just so good.

5.  Name the movie whose screening you’d like to co-host on TCM with Ben Mankiewicz.

It Happened One Night_02

Either It Happened One Night or Metropolis.

6.  Describe your most memorable movie occasion — not necessarily your favorite film, but a movie you enjoyed with friends, one that evoked a particular memory, etc.

Breaking Dawn

The first time I made an effort to go to a midnight showing was Breaking Dawn Part 1. A friend of mine went with me and the line was so long. It reminded me of other times I stood in line to see popular movies.

7.  What is your favorite line of movie dialogue?

Bette Davis_All About Eve

“Fasten your seatbelts, it’s going to be a bumpy night.” (Bette Davis in All About Eve)

8.  Why are movies special to you?

Movies make you feel so many emotions like laughter, crying, joy, and fear. They can also be a bit of an escape from everyday life for just a little while.

9.  What do you enjoy most about blogging?

I enjoy sharing my love of old movies with other people. Sometimes I like to blog about someone forgotten today like Omer Locklear (silent stunt pilot) or Wallace Reid (matinee idol) and reintroduce them to movie fans. I also like finding new blogs to follow of other film fans.

10.  What is your favorite book about movies?

1001Movies

1001 Movies You Must See Before You Die by Steven Jay Schneider

11.  You have your favorite movie actor or actress to yourself for 24 hours to do with what you will. Name, please.

Clark Gable1

The one and only Clark Gable.

I nominate the following Blogs:

These are my 11 questions for my nominees:

  1. What onscreen couple has the best chemistry?
  2. If one lost film could be found, what would it be?
  3. If you could choose one silent comedian between Charlie Chaplin, Buster Keaton, Harold Lloyd or Roscoe “Fatty” Arbuckle, who is your favorite and why?
  4. Who is your favorite swashbuckler?
  5. What is your favorite biography or autobiography?
  6. Have you ever participated in a blogathon and if so what did you enjoy most about it?
  7. If you could buy any memorabilia, what would it be?
  8. In your opinion, who is the biggest pioneer in the film industry (past or present)?
  9. What decade had the best films?
  10. Is there any actor/actress you feel hasn’t gotten the recognition they deserve?
  11. What actor/actress should receive and Oscar that hasn’t?

Finally, here is 11 facts about me:

1.  I love greyhounds whether it’s a big racing greyhound or a little Italian greyhound. I had an Italian Greyhound named Spencer for 14 years. He lived to be 15-1/2 which I think is a happy long life. I still miss him every day.

Spencer_090304b

2.  If I spend too much time in the sun I get freckles on my face.

3.  In 2000 I founded an online ladies group called The Victorian Ladies Society. It was for ladies who have a love of anything Victoriana and the Victorian Era. We are still online after 15 years. Lots of nice friendships have been made over the years.

4.  In this fast paced world of instant messages there is a lost art in letter writing. Believe it or not people do still write letters. They put stamps on their envelopes and mail them out. I have several pen-pals I enjoy writing letters to. There is just something personal about taking the time to sit down and write a letter to someone.

mailbox

 

5.  Sometimes I believe I was born in the wrong time.

6.  There is just something beautiful and special about old houses. I feel that those who live and take on the responsibility of an old house are its keeper to tend to it with love and care. I especially love Victorian homes.

Trube7.  My grandmother taught me how to embroider and cross stitch and I still continue to sew today.

8.  In addition to blogging about old movies I also like to make web graphics. My specialty is vintage Victorian. It started out as a hobby 18 years ago. My first website was called The Pages of Romance. I wanted to create my own graphics for my website. I bought Paint Shop Pro and the rest is history. My first web graphics site was called Victorian Backgrounds and Images which was eventually changed to Opulent Designs. It is still on the web today after all these years. Sadly it hasn’t been updated in a long time.

BlogHeader

9.  I’m a hopeless romantic.

FisherTheKiss

10.  After years of trading cars in for new ones I’m proud to say that I worked hard to pay my car off. My favorite car that I owned was an Infinity J30. I miss it a lot.

11.  I would rather spend a day browsing through antique stores than be at a mall.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

